Skip to main content

Harbourfront Shared Space

Harbourfront Shared Space

What is Harbourfront Shared Space (HSS)?

The Development Bureau and Harbourfront Commission have been striving to take forward harbourfront enhancement initiatives. In addition to connecting both sides of Victoria Harbour and introducing plentiful hardware installations while providing more flexible software support to create an exciting and diverse harbourfront environment, the Development Bureau and Harbourfront Commission have also been exploring suitable designs and management modes for our harbourfront in recent years, with a view to creating a new brand of “Harbourfront Shared Space”.

The “Harbourfront Shared Space” is an open management mode of public spaces. This “vision-driven” approach aims to allow the public to unleash their creativity and enjoy the harbourfront spaces in their own ways harmoniously with mutual respect, contributing to a more vibrant and diverse experience for visitors. Contrary to traditional parks, the “Harbourfront Shared Space” attempts to break from existing restrictions and limitations and encourage visitors to enjoy the harbourfront space with mutual respect and acceptance. In this space, visitors can freely enjoy themselves every moment in their own ways: jogging, sitting, and even strolling with their pets and cycling.

The design of the “Harbourfront Shared Space” is also innovative. Compared to fixed play facilities and seating, quite a number of facilities and installations in “Harbourfront Shared Space” are mobile, such as the cargo pallets, seating of different designs, rocking chairs and “pop-up” decorations and play equipment. Visitors may let their imagination guide them, and create a space of their own, which helps enhance the sense of belonging of the public to the harbourfront. Moreover, “pop-up” elements are introduced at each “Harbourfront Shared Space” site from time to time to provide new experience for visitors on every visit. This also makes each section of the harbourfront stand out with their own characteristics, suiting it to different parts of the population.

The Belcher Bay Promenade, opened in 2020, is the first testing ground of public acceptance of the new “Harbourfront Shared Space” management mode and facilities. According to the “Study on the New Mode of Design and Management at the Belcher Bay Harbourfront Open Space” conducted in early 2021, over 90% of some 600 interviewees were satisfied with the site. The positive results have shown that most visitors welcome public spaces with more open and responsive management.

The experience of the Belcher Bay Promenade has facilitated the Development Bureau and Harbourfront Commission in the continuation and exploration of the implementation of the “Harbourfront Shared Space”. Following the Belcher Bay Promenade, the concept of “Harbourfront Shared Space” has been extended to four other sites, including the HarbourChill located next to the Wan Chai Ferry Pier, the Water Sports and Recreation Precinct in Wan Chai, the breakwater at East Coast Park Precinct in Fortress Hill and the Tsuen Wan Promenade.

The Development Bureau and Harbourfront Commission will continue to extend the implementation of this open management mode to suitable harbourfront projects, building a more attractive and vibrant harbourfront for the public.

Harbourfront Shared Space Sites




“Summer ‧ Harbour” Activities at six Harbourfront Sites



Other Resources


"Scan QR Code" in WeChat and tap "..." to share.

跳到內容

海濱共享空間

「海濱共享空間」

什麼是「海濱共享空間」?

發展局和海濱事務委員會(委員會)一直致力推動優化海濱的工作。除了貫通維港兩岸的海濱長廊和豐富硬件建設,同時透過更有彈性的軟件支援,營造精彩和多元化的海濱環境之外,發展局和委員會近年更積極探索海濱的設計和管理模式,希望打造全新的「海濱共享空間」品牌。

「海濱共享空間」是一個開放式的公共空間管理模式,以「願景帶動」的方式,希望讓公眾在相互尊重的情況下,發揮創意按喜好共融地享受海濱空間,從而為遊人提供一個更有活力及多元化的體驗。有別於一般公園,「海濱共享空間」嘗試突破固有框架,沒有制定太多規則或限制,鼓勵市民互相尊重和包容。在這裡,大家可以跑步、閒坐,亦可以與寵物散步、踏單車,各適其適地享受在海濱的每個時刻。

在設計方面,「海濱共享空間」亦相當創新。相對固定的遊樂設施和座椅,「海濱共享空間」設有不少可移動設施和裝置,包括卡板、不同設計的桌椅、搖搖椅、「期間限定」的裝潢和遊樂設施等,任由用家按需要自由移動,創造自己的天地,亦增加市民對海濱的歸屬感。各個「海濱共享空間」場地亦會不時加入「期間限定」元素,令市民每次到訪都有新體驗,務求做到「段段有特色、處處有驚喜」,讓市民大眾可找到「心頭好」。

「海濱共享空間」在2020年於卑路乍灣海濱長廊率先試行,以測試巿民對這創新管理模式和設施的接受程度。根據2021年年初進行的《卑路乍灣海濱長廊研究報告》,600多名受訪的使用者中,對用地的滿意度超過九成,反映絕大部分用家歡迎這種機動式管理的公共空間。

卑路乍灣海濱長廊的經驗,推動了發展局和委員會繼續試驗和探討「海濱共享空間」的落實模式。繼卑路乍灣海濱長廊,「海濱共享空間」已推展到另外四個場地,包括毗鄰灣仔渡輪碼頭的「HarbourChill海濱休閒站」、灣仔「水上運動及康樂主題區」、炮台山「東岸公園主題區」的防波堤,以及荃灣海濱長廊。

發展局和委員會繼續將此開放式的公共空間管理模式,推展至合適的海濱項目,為市民打造更富吸引力和有活力的海濱。

海濱共享空間場地




「仲夏.維港」六大夏日海濱小天地



其他資源


請在微信中掃描二維碼然後按「...」以分享